I am a lazy bastard

Well. Not really.

I’ve been poking around recently open source OS’s and haven’t had much time to paint or play. This evening I’ll be playing a will get some pics. (Hopefully)

By way of example, this blog post was written using Firefox on Fedora 8. I’m still getting use to the whole Unix/Linux thing as to get some apps to run it involves using a lot more commands and typing than what I would typically like. For example, I’ve been trying to get a DNS server running on this box and I download the software but I have a heck of a time finding them after they have been installed. It turns out the name of the actual executable program isn’t always the name of software package. A more useful ‘How-to-book’ of Linux would be more useful than the man files for some programs.¬† I am getting the hang of some of it though.

Coming up this weekend, and maybe earlier, I think I have decided on a small change to the way I work ‘The Pipeline’. Also over the weekend, I hope to get some pics of the other stuff I have running around in my collection.

3 Responses

  1. welcome to the world of Linux.

    you’ll be glad to know there are a load of good books out there to help you configure the machine. so you’ll be fine

    let me know if I can help in any way I have a bit of experience with unix/linux and would be happy to help

  2. My big thing is trying to figure out where the OS puts stuff when you install packages from yum or any other package manager like in Ubuntu…..

  3. ah this is where the find command comes into it’s own

    have a look here http://linux.about.com/od/commands/l/blcmdl1_find.htm

Leave a Reply

WWPD: Wargames, Board Games, RPGs, LCGs, and more!

The Webogre's Painting and Wargaming

Brooklyn Wargaming

President of Metropolitan Wargamers in Park Slope, Brooklyn, NYC

Second World War Battlefields

WW2 Battlefields by Paul Reed

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

